Moon Phases

Published: Friday, 13 October 2017

As part of our space topic, year 5 have been studying the different phases of the moon. We looked at the names of the phases and why the moon appears to change shape. We learnt that is takes the moon 28 days to orbit the Earth and this is called a lunar month. In groups, we used Oreos to show the different shapes, the moon appears to take, during a lunar month. We also kept a moon diary to chart the moon phases as part of our homework.

More Articles ...

News Bulletin


Please remember doors open in Key Stage 2 at 8.35am for registration at 8.45am and Key Stage 1 doors open at 8.50am for registration at 8.55am.

 

We are now part of the Bradgate Education Partnership. 


To visit the website - please CLICK HERE.

 

Term Times


Autumn Term 2017

Half Term Monday 16th October to Friday 20th October

School closes Wednesday 20th December

Spring Term 2018

School opens Tuesday 9th January

Half Term Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February

School closes Friday 20th March

Summer Term 2018

School opens Monday 9th April

Bank Holiday Monday 7th May

Half Term Monday 28th May to Friday 1st June

School closes Friday 13th July